Shelter Rock Public Library
ONLINE DATABASES

 


Start your search here for newspaper or magazine articles and authoritative information.

 

Shelter Rock Public Library's Catalog
Access our library catalog.

AltHealthWatch
A full-text database that focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Ancestry (Available from inside the library only)
Discover your ancestors with this family history website. Start a family tree, browse census records and more

AccessScience (From Home Click Here)
The entire contents of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology is now available online. It includes 7,000 articles, 115,000 definitions, and biographies of more than 1,200 key scientists. Your library card number is required for access.

Auto Repair Reference Center
Complete automotive repair manuals as published in the Chilton Total Car Care Series.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index 
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.

Biography Resource Center + Marquis Who's Who® 
Biography Resource Center
combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Fully integrated, the Marquis Who's Who® module provides quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose entries have appeared in more than 22 Marquis sources published from 1985 to the present.

Bowker's Patron Books In Print
The first place to find books, audios, and videos.

Business and Company ASAP
Providing researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.

Business and Company Resource Center 
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Career Cruising
Career Cruising is an interactive career resource designed for people of all ages. If you want to find the right career, explore different career options, or plan future education and training, you've come to the right place!

CareerZone
An online resource for students and jobseekers from the New York State Department of Labor.

College Source Online
CollegeSource Online features over 11,000 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.

Community Resource Database of Long Island
Looking for information on local community services? The Community Resource Database of Long Island is a free, online directory of health, human service, and education agencies and programs on Long Island - services for children, teens, adults, families, and seniors in both Nassau and Suffolk counties. With detailed information on nearly 12,000 community resources, the CRD provides instant, keyword access to essential information for Long Island individuals and organizations. The CRD reaches people wherever computers linked to the Internet are available, wherever people can benefit from its use - in their homes, in their workplace, in community agencies, schools, and libraries. The CRD is current, with information added and updated on a daily basis.

Country Watch
CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. CountryWatch includes a Youth Edition, as well.

CQ Electronic Library
Your complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering and more....

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an integrated and cross-linked full-text source for reference books in every major subject. You will find English, bilingual and biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, maps, chronologies, statistics, handbooks and more.

Custom Newspapers (all) (This does NOT include Newsday)
Search a collection of 150 newspapers, both national and international.

Discovering Collection
Discovering Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic pick lists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

EBSCO Host Databases
Ebsco A-to-Z (Search by keyword and subject across the magazines and journals available in Ebsco databases with just one search).
AltHealthWatch
Primary Search
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

EBSCOhost Text Only
GreenFILE
Searchasaurus
Novelist
Novelist K-8
Auto Repair Reference Center
Home Improvement Reference Center
EBSCOhost Espanol
History Reference Center

Encyclopedia Britannica
Browse Encyclopedia Britannica online.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming
In-Library Access
Remote Access From Home

Searchable, complete content, including illustrations.

Gale Group / InfoTrac
Use InfoTrac to search magazines, newspapers (NY Times daily updates), and reference books for information on business, health, industry, current events, the arts, science, entertainment, etc.
Includes the following, and more :

Associations Unlimited International Health and Wellness Resource Center
Biography and Genealogy Master Index History Resource Center: US
Biography Resource Center Literature Resource Center -(LRC, Scribner, Twayne US, Twayne English and Twayne World Authors)
Business and Company Resource Center National Newspaper Index
General Business File ASAP Student Resource Center - Bronze
General Reference Center Gold Nursing and Allied Health
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Student Resource Center - Health Module

General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Gale Medicine
Medicine Subcollection

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more

Global Road Warrior
Research a country or plan for international business and recreational travel.

GreenFILE
This database contains materials related to all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global climate change , green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. You can limit your search to full-text articles.

Greenwood Daily Life Databases
Dynamic resources on history and contemporary events and culture.

Daily Life Through History (Remote users, click here)
Pop Culture Universe (Remote users, click here)
African American Experience (Remote users, click here)
Latino American Experience (Remote users, click here)
World History: The Modern Era (Remote users, click here)

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia (Remote users, Click Here)
Multimedia resources provide quick access factual information as well as broad overviews of general subjects. Contains: America the Beautiful, Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples, The New Book of Knowledge and The New Book of Popular Science.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Reference Center
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.

Heritage Quest Online
Your resource for census data, family records and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source materials and genealogical and local history serials.

History Reference Center  
U.S. and world history from ancient times to present, including primary documents, images and videos.

History Resource Center: US 
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.

History Resource Center: World 
History Resource Center: World is a comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals.

Home Improvement Reference Center
Step-by-step instruction, articles and illustrations for thousands of do-it-yourself projects in home repair, maintenance and remodeling, beginner to advanced. Areas include plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical and decorating.

Hoover's Company Records
Corporate data, in depth industry analysis, location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more for over 40,000 public and non-public companies.

¡Informé!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos.
Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras
materias.

Junior Edition - K12 
Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids InfoBits 
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

LearningExpress Exam Preparation
Prepare for academic and professional exams - ONLINE! Take practice tests at your own pace. Available exams are true previews of the official exams. Click on the link above to access. Once connected, click on the New User button. BE SURE TO SUPPLY YOUR 14-DIGIT LIBRARY CARD NUMBER IN THE USERNAME BOX.

Lexis Nexis Library Express
In-Library Access
Remote Access from Home
LexisNexis Library Express provides a full range of credible sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings.

Literature Resources from Gale 
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

LitFinder
Database of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes.

Live Librarian
Live Librarian is a service available to residents of Nassau County, NY. It enables real-time communication with a Reference Librarian who can assist you with your Internet search or questions regarding the use of electronic resources.  Live Librarians cannot provide computer technical support.

Mango Languages
Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Marquis Who's Who
In-Library Access
Remote Access From Home
Comprehensive and current biographical information, featuring noteworthy people from the 1600s to the present.

Masterplots
In-Library Access
Remote Access From Home
Plot synopses, analytical essays and critical evaluations of important world literature. including fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
In-Library Access
Remote Access from Home
Accurate, up-to-date information on thousands of stocks and funds, along with industry and market data. Build and test portfolio ideas online. Visit the Investing Classroom.

National Newspaper Index (This does NOT include Newsday)
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the
indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York
Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times
and The Washington Post.

Natural Standard
In-Library Access
Remote Access from Home
Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

New York State Newspapers
Search this database of ten major newspapers published in
the state of New York, including the Newsday, The New York Times and The New York Post.

New York Times - Historical - New York Times articles back to 1851, searchable with articles and pages as they originally appeared.

Newsday Includes full-text for Newsday from 1985 to present.

Novelist
This "readers' advisor" database has something for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles.

Novelist K-8
Teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations.

Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues and current events. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Oxford Art Online
This gateway into art research includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Oxford Music Online
This gateway into music research includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

p4a Antique Reference
Learn about, and learn to value, antiques, collectibles and fine art. Search for items and see pictures, prices and explanatory notes.

ProQuest
Direct Full-text articles on business and general interest subjects, with graphics, are searchable by keywords. Also included are periodicals and newspapers, including The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

PROMT
PROMT -- Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports.

Reference USA
ReferenceUSA is used by consumers, researchers and businesses to find detailed directory information on US businesses, residences, doctors and dentists. It contains information from annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information. Canadian business and residential directory information is also available.

Salem Press History
In-Library Access
Remote Access From Home
Searchable complete content, including illustrations, of the Encyclopedia of American Immigration, the Decades (50’s through 90’s), Great Events from History, Great Lives from History and Milestone Documents.

Science Resource Center 
Researching science topics has never been easier -- with Science Resource Center, thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.

Scribner Writers Series 
Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.

Searchasaurus 
Resources for primary through middle school students. Includes an encyclopedia, dictionary, magazine articles and encyclopedia of animals.

Sesame Street eBooks
In-Library Access
Remote Access from Home
Popular Sesame Street characters are brought to life in these engaging and educational books. Audio narration, interactivity and animation.

Student Resource Center - Bronze
Student Resource Center - Bronze offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC - Bronze provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 680 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals, an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards, and popular topic pick lists.

Student Resource Center - Health Module
Student Resource Center - Health Module is a curriculum-oriented database that includes more than 1,200 essays on medical and health-related topics, including diseases, treatments, and major historical figures in the fields of medicine, chemistry, biology, and related areas. Includes more than 300,000 full-text articles from 60 periodicals and 300 photographs and diagrams. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals, an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards, and a popular health topic pick list. Fully integrated into Student Resource Center - Gold.

Teen Health and Wellness Easy-to-use, comprehensive database allows teens (and those who care about teens) to find information for their own well-being and for research reports.

Testing & Education Reference Center 
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

ThomasNet
Search ThomasNet.com, the most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more...

TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books. There are also TumblePuzzles, and TumbleQuizzes, as well as TumbleResources for teachers. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.

The Twayne Authors Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors 
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors.

World Book Online
Access over 31,000 encyclopedia articles, 6,000 web links, 25,000 periodical articles, 800 videos, animations, and sounds, 400 interactive maps, 100 3-D bubble views, and much more.

Note: The latest web browser versions are required for proper use. To download the latest version of Internet Explorer, click here. To download the latest version of Netscape, click here.

 

Library Index